Participating  Countries


EURES is a cooperation network formed in 1994, comprising the European Commission and members and partners in EU countries, Norway, Iceland, Liechtenstein, Switzerland and the United Kingdom. The network consists of coordination offices (both European and national) and designated public employment services in each EU country, each with their own specific responsibilities. Other organisations, such as social partners, can join the network.

The main goals of EURES are to:

  • improve transparency and  information on job opportunities as well as living and working conditions across borders 
  • provide assistance for job placements and recruitment across borders

Secure handling of personal data:

  • EESSI will introduce the use of a common secure infrastructure for cross-border data exchange between social security institutions.
  • It will enable message exchange between national institutions, but the system will not create a database to store such messages and personal data centrally. The content of the messages will only be available to the relevant institutions, and Member States will remain responsible to ensure a high standard of data protection, in line with EU rules. 
  • EESSI will follow the latest standards in IT security.

How does EESSI work?

All communication between national institutions on cross-border social security files will take place through EESSI: social security institutions will exchange structured electronic documents and follow commonly agreed procedures. These documents will be routed through EESSI to the correct destination in another Member State.
Staff in social security institutions will be able to find the correct destination in another EU country using a repository of national institutions.


Likourgou 10, 10551, Athens Call center: 11131